Pre-Professional Year 2014

Sydney Dance Company’s Pre-Professional Year provides a unique opportunity for aspiring professional dancers to attend a new, full time one year training course with Australia’s leading contemporary dance company.

Open to dance students from school-leaving age, this nationally accredited one year intensive will offer students the chance to work with some of Australia’s most successful and award winning choreographers and educators. Students will develop their technique, artistry and performance skills alongside members of Sydney Dance Company led by Artistic Director Rafael Bonachela.

“I’m really excited that Sydney Dance Company is launching the Pre-Professional Year in 2014. Sydney Dance Company thrives on an ethos of excellence and the Pre-Professional Year will allow students to develop their skills to the highest artistic and technical standards alongside our professional Company.” – Rafael Bonachela, Artistic Director, Sydney Dance Company

“Sydney Dance Company’s Pre-Professional Year is an outstanding opportunity for aspiring dancers to gain exposure to Australia’s leading contemporary dance company. Students will develop all the skills essential for a lifelong career in contemporary dance as well as being provided with unique professional development, networking and mentorship opportunities under the guidance of the artistic staff of Sydney Dance Company.” – Darcey Bussell, CBE

Sydney Dance Company’s Pre-Professional Year includes a nationally recognised outcome (qualification CUA40111 Certificate IV in Dance) through a partnering arrangement with ATOD (RTO 31624). As an approved course, you may be eligible to apply for New Start Allowance or Youth Allowance.

Sydney Dance Company’s Pre-Professional Year: Class of 2014

Adrian Stoll, Griffith, NSW

Angela Walker, Taree, NSW

Christen Patinyotis, Essendon, VIC

Daniel Russell, Umina, NSW

Emma Moran, Avalon Beach, NSW

Isaac Di Natale, Essendon, VIC

Isabella Ostermann, Newcastle, NSW

Jason Fuchs, Kingsford, NSW

Jocelyn Ballantyne, Carlton North, VIC

Josephine Weise, Harvey Bay, QLD

Kate Arber, Toodyay, WA

Kelsey Smith, Newcastle, NSW

Kristina Wallbank-Hutton, Dulwich Hill, NSW

Laura Wood, Bellbowrie, QLD

Leah Marojevic, St. Ives, NSW

Luke Mangraviti, Dee Why, NSW

Maxime Hexter, Carlton North, VIC

Nicholas Tredrea, Auckland, New Zealand

Olivia Kingston, Uki, NSW

Olympia Kotopoulos, Randwick, NSW

Phillipa Mills, Port Macquarie, NSW

Sam Young-Wright, Wanniassa, ACT

Shriram Shastri, Murwillumbah, NSW

Stephanie Fernandez, Castle Hill, NSW

Tara Gower, Monash, ACT

Zachary Lopez, Kallangur, QLD


Applications for the Class of 2015 open mid 2014.

To register your interest email