Ezio Bosso - Composer

We Unfold

Symphony No 1 ‘Oceans’ for cello and orchestra

Performed by the orchestra of the Teatro Regia, Torino

Cellist Relja Kukic


6 Breaths

6 Breaths for Cello and Piano


Born in Turin, Ezio Bosso graduated in double bass and composition in Italy and at the Hochschule fűr Musik in Vienna under the guide of Ludwig Streicker for double bass and Edgar Österreicher for conducting and Claude Vivier for composition.  Considered one of the rare double bass concertists, Ezio Bosso has worked as a soloist and director in Europe, Mexico, Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, Japan, Peru, Australia, South Africa, the USA and Israel with orchestras such as Deutsche Kammervirtuosen, Wiener Streicher, Orchestra del Teatro Regio, Mantova Chamber Orchestra, Regional Orchestra of Lazio, Thscech Philamonik, Brest Ensemble, Lucero, Schubert Philarmonie, Orchestra dell’Accademia della Scala, Santa Cecelia Orchestra from Rome.

He has been invited to festivals like Melbourne International Arts Festival, Philarmonica Mexicana, Season of the Teatro Regio in Turin, Tempo d’Orchestra, Radio Copenhagen, Maggio Musical of Florence, Turin Music Union, Dans scenen Copenhagen, 2et2m, Ircam and concert halls Palacio de las Bellas Artes, Mexico City, Teatro Colon Buenos Aires, Parco della Musica Rome, Victorian Hall Melbourne, and Royal Festival Hall in London.  In May 2005, a severe accident interrupted his instrumental career and leads him to concentrate on his composing and directing activities.

Since 1996 he has composed for theatres in Italy, France, Australia, the USA, Spain and for the directors Malosti, Galland and Cuocilio; while in the dance sector he has worked with choreographers Castello Bianchi, Tony Yap, Liv Lorent, Christopher Wheeldon, George Piper Dances and with Sadler’s Wells Theatre.  Ezio Bosso’s works have been commissioned by important institutions such as Teatro Regio in Turin, Arena di Verona, Major of Rome, ENI, CRT Brescia, Unione Musicale and Maison Baudelaire.   He has created numerous scores for silent movies for the Cinema Museum of Turin, the Royal Cinematheque Amsterdam and the Cineteca in Bologna.

In contemporary cinema he has worked with directors Tavarelli, Terracciano, Porporati and in particular with Gabriele Salvatores with whom he works on a regular basis after the success of his score for I’m Not Scared, which brought Ezio international acclaim.  He is official artist for BMG Classics and has received many awards and nominations (Premio Flaiano, Nastri d’argento, David di Donatello, UK film-music award, Best Composer 2007 for the association for the cinema d’essais, Premio IMAIE nastro nascente).

The Academy Awards in Los Angeles invited him to take part in the 2004 selections.  Ezio is the only Italian composer of classical music that has received the prestigious Italian Music Award.  His music is distributed by BMG RCA, Sony Warner and has been performed in Europe, Japan, Latin America and Australia.  Since 2005, all of Ezio Bosso’s compositions have been produced by Hector Castillo and Dan Bora (David Bowie, Lou Reed, Philip Glass) at Philip Glass’ Looking Glass Studio in New York.  Ezio’s music is performed around the world and is used for commercials, TV shows, Main Title, in dance, in theatre and is played on radio all over the world.  His compositions are published by Casa Musicale Sonzogno.

Rafael Bonachela’s dance works have been inspired by the music of Ezio Bosso including Amox (2008), 360° (2008) and We Unfold (2009).  2010 sees the premiere in Sydney, Australia of Rafael Bonachela’s 6 Breaths to Ezio Bosso’s score of the same name.